Kaylan Hammond of Mountain Home, Arkansas is an active member with the Norfork Rebels 4-H club. Submitted Photo.
Submitted Photo

Hometown: Mountain Home, Ark.

Parent: LeighAnne Hammond

Siblings: Erika, Linzay and Lauren

4-H Club: Norfork Rebels 4-H

What is your involvement in agriculture? 

“I started my agriculture journey by raising and showing livestock, beginning when I moved here my eighth-grade year. My curriculum required me to take an agriculture class. I had never experienced anything like that. This was the beginning of my journey in agriculture. Although I found the animals and plants very interesting, it was not just the raising of them that interest me, but all the different nutritional elements that accompanied it as well.” 

What is your favorite part of being involved in agriculture/living on a farm?

“Raising the larger livestock. This has taught me responsibility, hard work, and dedication. Getting up early every morning to feed, water, and make sure these animals are safe and healthy is hard work. That is just the start of the day, I then, get home, do my homework, and get ready to exercise, groom and feed the animals before going to bed to do the same thing the next day. It takes dedication and time to keep up with everything. Working with these animals is rewarding and challenging.  It teaches you to be responsible for another living thing other than yourself.  These animals depend on you to make sure they are living a healthy life. It is important to do everything in your power to avoid them getting sick and if they do, you must learn how to take care of them. Learning what kind of treatment, shots and medicine is one part and knowing when a veterinarian is required is the other part. Another part is caring for common parasites and conditions like, getting rid of ringworm, hoof rot, or warts. Grooming these animals for shows including trimming hoofs, shearing, and making sure their hair or wool is just right. It can get crazy some days; however, it is worth it.

What are your future plans? 

“I am now a freshman at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge, La. I am majoring in animal science with a minor in animal nutrition. It is my plan to continue in agriculture as an animal nutritionist.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here