Family: Wife, Kristi Hopkins; son Tucker, 19; and daughter Stormi, 12
Hometown: Claremore, Okla.

In Town: “Both my wife and I teach school at Sequoyah Public Schools with a population of 1,200 to 1,300 students. I have taught for 24 years and also coach junior high football and track, as well as high school track, perhaps because I competed in both track and football when I attended the same school way back when. I drive a bus and teach math, from first grade through algebra. Because Sequoyah is a complex of buildings on one campus, I teach in five different buildings during the day. My wife Kristi teaches elementary physical education and has done so for 24 years. My wife graduated from Claremore, and I and our son are graduates of Sequoyah, with my daughter now attending there. It’s kind of a family thing. Though I taught agriculture at one time, I no longer do so because being an ag teacher did not allow me to be with my daughter, who competes in as many as 80 barrel races and shows a year.”

In the Country: “I have a total of 200 acres in various locations and in two counties, where I raise Angus-based commercial cattle with 40 mommas and one purebred bull. I have two breeding seasons with an evenly divided herd. My son picked our bull because of his large frame and calving ease. When the mommas are ready to give birth, we bring them just outside the front yard because the area is well contained with automatic waterers. That prevents the cows from giving birth in more dangerous areas. I wean when practical and sell right off the cow at Tulsa Stockyards or South Coffeyville Stockyards. We usually retain heifers for replacement. I also bale hay in the summers. Last year I baled 1,200 bales, 70 percent of which came from my land. My daughter, Stormi, raises 100 chickens at a time at school with the nurse Krista as a partner. Stormi sells the eggs at school and at Green Valley nursery on the honor system with grandma selling them as well. Stormi began her chicken business by using barrel racing money. She shows pigs, chickens, sheep and dairy, and wants to show beef as well but that’s too much feed. My son Tucker also showed a variety of animals when he was in school.”

Future: “I am looking to retire in 10 years, then I plan to bale hay and work with my cows. I will most likely sell the home place and move further north where I will be able to have more land and raise more cows.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here