COLUMBIA, Mo. – “Making the best better” for generations of 4-H’ers, 54 people joined the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame on Aug. 9 at the State Fair Community College campus in Sedalia.

Inductees from 41 counties bring with them a total of 1,566 years of volunteer service to the hall of fame. More than 300 family members and friends attended the eighth annual event for which citizens nominated 4-H’ers for outstanding volunteer work in local 4-H programs.

“This celebration acknowledges the contributions of distinguished 4-H leaders — both past and present,” says State 4-H Council President Trent Ludwig. The Missouri 4-H Foundation honors individuals with a legacy of service to 4-H with induction into the Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame.

“These leaders have made exceptional contributions to the lives of Missouri 4-H members, and we are proud to honor their service,” says Missouri 4-H Foundation Executive Director Cheryl Reams.

FCS Financial, the Missouri State Fair and the Missouri 4-H Foundation sponsor the annual event.


2014 Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame inductees by county

Andrew: Sam Carneal

Audrain: Leland Hanneken

Barton: Donald and Wilma McKibben

Bates: Anna Lou Engelhardt

Benton: Mary Westermier

Buchanan: Helen Whitlock

Caldwell: Virginia Howell

Callaway: Rodney Garnett

Carroll: Candy Schlueter

Cass: John Vic Grice

Clark: Larry Young, Kahoka Meat Processors

Clinton: Rosalie Ingle

Cole: James Jay Wilbers

Cooper: Ann Lenz

Franklin: Marilyn Eckelkamp

Gasconade: Gary and Jane Peanick

Greene: Sherry Kelley

Grundy: Les and Betty Spickard

Henry: David and Laura Henny

Jasper: Mike and Pat Cloud

Johnson: Kenneth and Marilyn Parsons

Lafayette: Mary Jane Bergman

Lawrence: Marilyn Calvin

Lewis: the late Kevin Cary

Lincoln: John Northcutt

Linn: Doris Liebhart

Livingston: William Bagley

Macon: Shari Bibbs

Marion: Don and Kathy Nicholson

Monroe: Mike and Julann McLaughlin

Osage: Geralyn Kleffner

Pettis: Karl and Ruth Ann Darby

Pike: Chris Niemeyer

Putnam: Robert and Karen Houf

Ralls: Terry and Joy Hoyt

Randolph: Arthur Ray and Clara Heath

Saline: Kim Vogel

Scotland: Randy Ward

Shelby: Jan Beach

St. Clair: Barbara Haverland

Vernon: Neal and Connie Gerster


The 2014 Missouri 4-H Hall of Fame inductees, from left to right:

Row 1 — Rodney Garnett, Donald and Wilma McKibben, and Karl and Ruth Ann Darby.

Row 2 — Cindy Cary, Kim Vogel, Rosalie Ingle, Karen and Robert Houf, Kenneth Parsons, Marilyn Parsons, Barbara Haverland and Ann Lenz.

Row 3 — Arthur Ray  and Clara Heath, Sherry Kelley, Gary Peanick, Jane Peanick, Joy and Terry Hoyt, and Laura and David Henny.

Row 4 — Virginia Howell, Mary Westermier, Helen Whitlock, John Vic Grice, William Bagley, Randy Ward, Betty and Les Spickard and Mary Jane Bergman.

Row 5 — Don and Kathy Nicholson, Neal and Connie Gerster, John Northcutt, Marilyn Eckelkamp, Leland Hanneken, Julann and Mike McLaughlin.

Row 6 — Shari Bibbs, Larry Young, Mike Cloud, Pat Cloud, Marilyn Calvin and Candy Schlueter.

Read more


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here