The OSU Graduate College honoring the 2014 Phoenix Award winners on Wednesday, April 9. Outstanding Graduate Master’s Student Gabriela Orquera (left) and Outstanding Graduate Faculty Member Sundararajan Madihally (right) are pictured with Cynthia Dobbs (center), the chairwoman of the Phoenix Award Committee. The Outstanding Graduate Doctoral Student Daniel Asamoah is not pictured.

The Oklahoma State University Graduate College and Graduate and Professional Student Government Association honored outstanding students and faculty with Phoenix Awards at a ceremony on Wednesday, April 9.

The Phoenix Awards annually honor an outstanding master’s student, doctoral student and faculty member, based on achievement in scholarship, leadership, professional involvement and university and community service.

“We are excited to honor these devoted nominees and their tireless efforts toward making OSU a better environment for learning, research and exploration,” said Amanda Curtis, GPSGA executive member.

Sundararajan Madihally, an associate professor in the School of Chemical Engineering, was named the Outstanding Graduate Faculty Member for his exemplary teaching ability, professional excellence, dedication to the profession and growth of graduate students. Madihally received $500 as part of this prestigious award. 

The other finalists for this year’s faculty member award were Charles Abramson, from the Department of Psychology, and Kathryn Castle, from the School of Teaching and Curriculum Leadership.

Entomology and plant pathology student Gabriela Orquera received the Outstanding Graduate Master’s Student award, and Daniel Asamoah, a management sciences and information systems graduate student, was named the Outstanding Graduate Doctoral Student.

The winning students were selected for their exemplary leadership, scholastic achievement, professional involvement and research. Each student received $375 and had their names engraved on the Phoenix award plaque, located outside the Graduate College office in Whitehurst Hall.

Isarin Durongkadej, from the Spears School of Business, was a finalist for the master’s student award. Both Elisabeth Rendina-Ruedy, from Human Sciences, and Akkarapol Sangasoongsong, from Materials Sciences and Engineering, were finalists for the doctoral student award.

In addition to the Phoenix Award, a variety of other individuals, as well as research symposium paper and poster award winners, were recognized at this year’s event.

Jodi Riek, from Human Sciences, was named the Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant, Julie Koch, from Applied Health Education Psychology Department, is the Outstanding Graduate Coordinator winner, and Debra Danley, from the Department of Animal Science, was named Outstanding Graduate Supporting Staff.


Read more–2014-phoenix-award-winners-announced-


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here