Nine Oklahoma State University faculty members have been named the 2014 recipients of the Regents Distinguished Teaching Award. This is the 24th year outstanding faculty members have been recognized for their expertise and dedication to teaching. The awards were approved during the meeting of the Oklahoma State University/A&M Board of Regents on Friday, Sept. 5. Receiving the prestigious awards are: 

·         Udaya DeSilva, associate professor, animal science (Division of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources)

·         Jeffrey Walker, professor, English (College of Arts and Sciences)

·         Kristen Baum, associate professor, zoology (College of Arts and Sciences) 

·         Ricky Wilson, professor, management science and information systems (SpearsSchool of Business)

·         Juliana Utley, associate professor and Phillips Chair, teaching and curriculum leadership (College of Education)

·         Karen High, professor, chemical engineering (College of Engineering, Architecture & Technology)

·         Edralin Lucas, associate professor, nutritional sciences (College of Human Sciences)

·         Melanie Breshears, associate professor, pathobiology (Center for Veterinary Health Sciences)

·         Kent Smith, associate professor, Academic Affairs (Center for Health Sciences)

Each will receive a permanent annual salary increment of $2,000. Each college nominates up to three people for the award. A review and selection committee composed of an undergraduate and a graduate student, two faculty members at large, two department heads and the provost or his designee, identifies the winners. Each college has one recipient except the College of Arts and Sciences, which has two recipients due to the large number of faculty. 


Release by Kim Hunter

Read more


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here