Dr. Kayse Shrum

The Oklahoma Osteopathic Association presented Kayse M. Shrum, DO, president of the Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences, with the Outstanding & Distinguished Service Award at its 114th Annual Convention, which was held April 24-27 at the Embassy Suites Norman Hotel & Conference Center in Norman, Okla. This award is given to an osteopathic physician who is an outstanding asset to patients, physicians, hospitals, medical students and professional organizations.

Dr. Shrum was recognized at the association’s April 26 banquet for her strong rural advocacy efforts in Oklahoma and her dedication to preserving the principles and philosophies of osteopathic medicine at the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Dr. Shrum earned her Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine degree from the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine and began her career as a pediatrician in private practice, being named the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association Rookie Physician of the Year in 2001. 

She later became a full-time educator and administrator and was named chair of the OSU Center for Health Sciences Department of Pediatrics in 2005 and the Saint Francis Health System’s Endowed Chair of Pediatrics in 2009.  Dr. Shrum was promoted to interim vice president of academic affairs in 2009 and, in 2011, was named the George Kaiser Family Foundation Endowed Chair of Medical Excellence & Service.

Dr. Shrum became provost of the OSU Center for Health Sciences and dean of OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine in January 2011.  Last year, she was named president of Oklahoma State University Center for Health Sciences, becoming the youngest and first female president and dean of a medical school in the state of Oklahoma, as well as the first OSU Center for Health Sciences graduate to become dean of the college. 

She serves as chair-elect of the American Osteopathic Board of Pediatrics and as a trustee of the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association. She received the Tulsa Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women Pinnacle Award in Health in 2012 and was awarded recognition as one of Oklahoma Magazine’s 40 Under 40 Class of 2012. 

Dr. Shrum resides in her hometown of Coweta with her husband of 22 years, Darren, and their five children, Colton, Joseph, Kyndall, Kilientn and Karsyn.

Special guests highlighting the 114th Annual Convention were Robert S. Juhasz, DO, president-elect of the American Osteopathic Association; Duane G. Koehler, DO, FACOFP, governor of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians; and Ray E. Stowers, DO, FACOFP, immediate past president of the American Osteopathic Association. Participation in the four-day program provided osteopathic physicians with continuing medical education requirements for Oklahoma license renewal and certification.

The Oklahoma Osteopathic Association serves more than 2,000 members, including practicing physicians, residents, interns, osteopathic medical students and retired physicians. Doctors of osteopathic medicine, or DOs, practice in 67 of 77 counties and in 143 Oklahoma communities. Oklahoma DOs practice in all areas of medicine from neurology to sports medicine to cardiology. DOs complete four years of medical training and continue their education in postgraduate internships and residencies. As complete physicians, DOs are able to prescribe medication and perform surgery. In addition, DOs have added training in osteopathic manipulative medicine, a hands-on treatment tool they can use to diagnose and treat injuries or illnesses. OMM can be used in conjunction with and sometimes in place of medication or surgery to restore mobility and function. For more information about Oklahoma DOs, contact the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association at 405-528-4848 or visit www.okosteo.org.

Read more https://news.okstate.edu/press-releases/2750-osu-center-for-health-sciences-president-receives-outstanding-a-distinguished-service-award


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here